List of Minister of Education in Nigeria

Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Education has produced 46 ministers of education since 1958. The first Nigerian minister of education was Aja Nwachukwu. Read on for more details.

Are you curious to know the complete list of all former (past) Nigerian ministers of education? If so, this article has you covered because we’ll talk about prior Nigerian ministers of education, including the present one.

The names of previous Nigerian ministers of education, along with the year they held the position, are shown here. Since progress cannot occur without education, the government of Nigeria is particularly concerned about this sector.

What are the Functions of the Minister of Education?

Everywhere in the world, there is a Ministry of Education whose sole purpose is to create and carry out educational policies that would enable the nation to satisfy academic needs.

The Federal Ministry of Education in Nigeria has the following responsibilities in conformity with international norms, like every other nation:

List of Former Ministers of Education in Nigeria

The list of Nigeria’s Federal Ministry of Education is provided below under international standards.


Years in Office


Aja Nwachukwu

1958 – 1965

First education minister in Nigeria

Richard Akinjide

1965 – 1967

The first military coup truncated his tenure

Wenike Briggs

1967 – 1970


A. Y. Eke

1970 – 1975


Ahmadu Ali

1975 – 1978

During his tenure, they established JAMB in 1978

G. B. Leton

1978 – 1979

He implemented some recommendations of a committee that set up JAMB

Sylvester Ugoh

1979 – 1982

He was the Vice-Presidential candidate of the National Republican Convention (NRC) in 1993

Bala Usman

1979 – 1982

He is the founder of the Centre for Democratic Development, Research and Training at Ahmadu Bello University (ABU)

Elizabeth Iyase



I. C. Madubuike

1982 – 1983


L. A. Bamigbaiye

1982 – 1983


Sunday Afolabi

September to December 1983

The coup of December 31, 1983, sacked him from office. He later served as Minister of the Interior after Nigeria’s return to democratic rule.

Alhaji Y. Abdullahi

1984 – 1985


Alhaji Ibrahim 



Jubril Aminu

1985 – 1989

Prof. Aminu transformed JAMB by expanding its mandate

Babs Fafunwa

1990 – 1992

Fafunwa was the first Professor of Education in Nigeria

Ben Nwabueze

January 1993 to August 1993


A. I. Imogie

January 1993 to November 1993


Alhaji Dongodaji

January 1993 to January 1994


Iyorchia Ayu

January 1994 to February 1995

He’s the present Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and a minister during Obasanjo’s era

Wada Nas

January 1995 to February 1995


M. T. Liman

February 1995 to December 1997


Iyabo Anisulowo

February 1997 to December 1997


Dauda Birmah

December 1997 to June 1998


A. N. Achunine 

December 1997 to June 1998


Olaiya Oni

August 1998 to May 1999


Alhaji S. Saadu

August 1998 to May 1999


Tunde Adeniran

June 1999 to January 2001

He is a former staff member of the United Nations

Lawam Batagarawa

June 1999 – 2001


Babalola Borishade

February 2001 to June 2003


Bello Usman

February 2001 to June 2003


Fabian Osuji

July 2003 to February 2005


Hajia Bintu Musa

July 2003 to June 2005


Chinwe Obaji

June 2005 to June 2006


Halima Tayo Alao

June 2005 – 2006


Grace Ogwuche

February 2006 to June 2006


Oby Ezekwesili

June 2006 – April 2007

She was a former vice president of the World Bank

Sayadi Abba Ruma

June 2006 – April 2007


Adewunmi Abitoye

June 2006 to May 2007


Igwe Aja Nwachukwu

June 2007 to December 2008


Jerry Agada

June 2007 to December 2008


Aishatu Jibril Dukku

June 2007 – 2010


Sam Egwu

December 2008 to March 2010

He’s a former governor of Ebonyi State

Ruqqayat Rufai

April 2010 – September 2013


Ibrahim Shekarau

2014 – 2015

A former governor of Kano State

Adamu Adamu

November 2015 – Present

Adamu Adamu, a long-time ally of Muhammadu Buhari is the incumbent Education Minister in Nigeria

Who is the Current Minister of Education in Nigeria 2022?

The Federal Government Scholarship Awards for 2022–2023 are open to interested and qualified the Honourable Minister of Education (HME), Mallam Adamu Adamu sponsors Nigerians. 

All Ministries, departments, and agencies are thus informed that President Muhammadu Buhari has allowed them.

What is the Difference Between Parastatal and Ministry?

A parastatal is a section inside a ministry that assists the ministry in carrying out its duties, whereas a ministry is an agency of government responsible for administration and aiding the government in achieving its objectives.

If you find this article interesting, you can leave a comment in the comment section below. Also, you can share it with your friends. Thanks.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *